Lifestyle

The Face Behind Sugar Sticks

“I want my readers to make a change today by firstly, becoming aware of how much sugar they are eating on a daily basis and secondly, how they can work towards becoming sugar-free. I want my readers to stay motivated and reach their goals, the same way that I did for myself.”

– Flora C.

img_6520
Image via Eufloriaa

Flora Choi is a writer, photographer and health advocate based in Sydney, Australia. She’s currently studying her her Bachelor of Commerce/ Bachelor if Media (PR and Advertising) at The University of New South Wales. She founded Sugar Sticks in September 2016, and has since been motivating the community on opting for a healthy lifestyle by cutting back their daily sugar intake. She does this by offering extensive advice and recommendations which are published on this website.

We’ve decided to ask her a couple of questions about Sugar Sticks and her vision behind it.

Besides blogging for Sugar Sticks, what do you like to do in your spare time?

I love to travel, explore new places, go out for brunches with friends and take photos of everything.

img_6485
Image via Eufloriaa

What inspired you to create Sugar Sticks?

Around this time last year, I decided to make a change to my lifestyle by opting for a diet that contains little to no sugar. To be honest, I was a little skeptical about that – I wasn’t sure how I could cut that much sugar out of my diet! I loved my iced coffee frappuccinos and going out for brunches with my friends (think buttermilk pancakes and chocolate and strawberry waffles *drools*), so that goal seemed a little overboard at the time.

However, all those times when I rejected a can of soft drink, and those days where I kept track of every single teaspoon of sugar I ate during the day really made a difference. I definitely felt a lot less lethargic and bloated. Becuase of that, I was motivated to start up Sugar Sticks to spread the word that by cutting down your daily sugar consumption to its bare minimum, you will feel a difference in your health. I’m not saying this cause the nutritionist says its good, I’m saying this because I know it from first-hand experience.

screen-shot-2016-10-21-at-12-16-20-am
Image via Eufloriaa

It’s hard to reject a can of soft drink when you’re going out. How do you resist the temptation?

All of this has got to do with your mind. What I always do when I face these situations is to remind myself that I have a goal to achieve – mine was to not go over the recommended daily sugar intake for my body type, that is 7 teaspoons of sugar. Forget what everyone around you says about your choices; this is all about yourself. Also, think of the regret you would feel if you drank that can of coke. You know what you got to do to achieve that goal, so stick to it!

screen-shot-2016-10-21-at-12-28-25-am
Image via Eufloriaa

What is your biggest motivation?

My biggest motivation is getting to the end result. I get motivated even when I see small changes. During the first couple of weeks of my little to no sugar challenge, I struggling so much to stop myself from snacking on something sugary, like a block of chocolate. But after a while, your mind will become trained to stop begging for sugar. From then, I could sense small improvements to my health, like an increase in energy and a decrease in bloated. These incremental changes that happened over time fueled my motivation to keep going.

Screen Shot 2016-10-21 at 12.26.17 am.png
Image via Eufloriaa

Lastly, what do you want your readers to get out of Sugar Sticks?

I want my readers to make a change today by firstly, becoming aware of how much sugar they are eating on a daily basis and secondly, how they can work towards becoming sugar-free. I want my readers to stay motivated and reach their goals, the same way that I did for myself. There’s heaps of recommendations on my website such as 10 Easy Ways To Decrease Your Sugar Intake which will make your journey to going sugar-free easier.

Screen Shot 2016-10-21 at 12.28.15 am.png
Image via Eufloriaa

Ending note?

We all love a good challenge, and this is a challenge that you should be sticking to. #sugarstickstome

 

Written by Flora C.

cropped-how-much-is-too-much-sugar-facebook-banner1.jpg

Sugar Sticks

Follow us on WordPress and on our other Social Media!

FACEBOOK: SUGAR STICKS

TWITTER: @SUGARSTICKSTOME

INSTAGRAM: @SUGARSTICKSTOME

 

3 thoughts on “The Face Behind Sugar Sticks

  1. Cutting sugar out of my life seems to difficult because it makes up such a big portion of my diet (treat yo self etc etc.) I always assumed cutting sugar out of my diet would mean that I would find it hard to go out with friends or for drinks. But this blog post showed that it is possible to have your (sugar-free) cake, and eat it too, like you don;t have to sacrifice giving up on yummy food because there are so many good non-sugar options out there! Thanks Flora!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hey Threadend! Thank you so much for your lovely comment! Yes, cutting back on sugar doesn’t necessarily mean you are missing out on life! You can definitely treat yo self every now and then (like the pink frosted cupcakes) as long as you keep it in moderation! 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

